fec2.jpg (8897 bytes)


This publication has been prepared by the Federal Election Commission to provide the public with the results of elections held in the fifty states during 2000 for the offices of United States President, United States Senator and United States Representative. Also included are the results for Delegate to Congress from American Samoa, the District of Columbia, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Resident Commissioner for Puerto Rico. In addition, there are results for the special election to fill the unexpired U.S. Senate term in Georgia. The Commission undertakes this project on a biennial basis in order to respond to public inquiries.

The elections for these federal offices are administered by local election officials in towns, counties, municipalities, and other jurisdictions. The results of the elections are certified by the state government, which in most cases is the Secretary of State. While the full records are available for public inspection, most states prepare summary reports for public dissemination. These summary reports vary in form and content, and may be amended well after the election. There is no standard format that states use in reporting federal election results.

Recognizing a need to bring together in one place the federal election results, the Commission presents this publication as the tenth in a series designed to provide an accurate, historical record of federal election results.

Included in this publication are the official results of primary elections and runoff elections held in 2000. As in the case of the general elections, primary elections are not administered by the federal government. In some states (such as Connecticut, Utah, and Virginia), political party organizations control their nomination process by way of conventions. In other states, state law may regulate the primary and/or its administration.

Data is based on official figures provided by State election officials, and includes results amended through June 2001. If the election results are modified in the future, the Commission will supply errata supplements as necessary. The assistance provided by the State election officials and their staff in gathering this data is greatly appreciated.

This publication has been prepared as a research tool for Commission staff and State election offices. Additional copies may be ordered from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), U.S. Department of Commerce, 5285 Port Royal Road, Springfield, Virginia 22161. (800/553-6847 and 703/605-6000.) Online orders may be placed at http://www.ntis.gov.

Federal Elections 2000 may also be viewed and/or downloaded from the Commission’s Web site, http://www.fec.gov.

The November 2000 general election resulted in the election of the 107th Congress. The following is the party composition of the 107th Congress, as determined by the results of that election:

U.S. Senate

Republicans: 50
Democrats: 50

U.S. House of Representatives

Republicans: 221
Democrats: 212
Independents: 2

Printed by the Federal Election Commission
1050 First Street NE
Washington, D.C. 20463
June 2001

Danny L. McDonald, Chairman
David M. Mason, Vice Chairman
Karl J. Sandstrom
Bradley A. Smith
Scott E. Thomas
Darryl R. Wold

Statutory Officers
James A. Pehrkon, Staff Director
Lois G. Lerner, Acting General Counsel
Lynne A. McFarland, Inspector General

Compiled by: Eileen J. Canavan, Deputy Assistant Staff Director for Disclosure
R. Bryan Whitener, Public Affairs Specialist
Map Design:  James L. Jones, Multimedia Information Specialist

Back to:

Table of Contents